Definitions of Love..

We all have a definition of Love and to each their own.  Some people may feel that love is this certain thing and, someone can think the complete opposite. Some people define love based on whether or not their counterpart eats a cheeseburger the same way they do thinking to themselves “Surely this person is just like me so I love them.”  But, then again that is what makes us all unique.

At the end of the movie “Notthing Hill” there is this scene where Julia Roberts and Hugh Grant are sitting on a park bench.  While Hugh Grant is reading a book, Julia Roberts is laying on the bench resting her head on hugh staring at all the kids running and playing.  They are not doing anything but sitting.  They know exactly where the other persons heart lies and words simply can’t measure up.  For me this is my definition of love.  That place where you can just be with someone and it’s more than natural. That “Being” is sufficient enough.

You see we work too hard to make things work.  Even times it cost us to not be ourselves.  I was talking to a friend of mine and she was hanging out with this guy and told me “I don’t even know what to do when I’m with him, I’ve never been in a relationship before.”  The best advice I could give her was to just be natural and to be herself regardless of what it costs her.  Because the moment when something is forced, it’s trying to put something in a place that’s not meant to go.

It seems that if we are being authentic with ourselves and with others is when we can have these park bench type moments because the other person knows you for who you are which is true intimacy and the best way to look at intimacy is In to me you see.  Because if you allow someone to fully look into and be in your life. That person loves and appreciates you for who you are and can just sit with you then there is no room for fear.  Which is a peaceful feeling to think regardless of everything this person loves me for me no matter what.

I believe when I find that person for me to spend the rest of my life with she is gonna get the directors cut of JD.  Not the person I want to be or the person I was but, who I am right now.  Fully open and not afraid to hide anything.  Because if she can love me for who I am right now, she will love who I become in the future and love me for who I have been. I want to be able to sit with her on a bench and not have to say anything but, just feel her next to me and know we both love each other.  Because in that moment the state of hoping is surpassed by knowing.

So… Ask yourself what is your definition of Love?

Are you being truly authentic with the person you’re talking to?

Are you trying hard to put a puzzle piece in the wrong spot?

But, most of all can you imagine yourself sitting on a bench with this person and not have to say a word?

Leave a Reply

